GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Grapefruit Pound Cake January 16, 2012

Filed under: Dessert!,For Helpers! — gastromami @ 6:47 pm

My family placed bets on how many pieces of cake I am going to eat tonight

(Update:  I’m up to 2 … ok 2 1/2)  (now it’s 3 1/2)

If I were to think about my mom’s favorite meal it would be breakfast. 

If I were to think about my mom at breakfast I would think 3 things: 

blueberry pancakes, Red River  & grapefruit – the woman loves grapefruit

I really want to talk to my mom right now but instead I’m housing this cake I found in Cooking Light

I’m not really a huge pound cake fan but the cream cheese gives this an oh, so cheesecake, but not cheesecake, taste that is just fabulous

(Looking online I saw a woman who made it with lemon – I think next time I may do half & half (lemon & grapefruit) on the zest for a bigger “oomph!”

Baking spray with flour
2 cups AP flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
5/8 teaspoon salt, divided
1 2/3 cups granulated sugar
6 tablespoons butter, softened
6 ounces 1/3-less-fat cream cheese
2 large eggs
1/4 cup canola oil
2 tablespoons grated grapefruit rind (or 1T lemon rind, 1T grapefruit)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup 2% reduced-fat milk
1/2 cup fresh grapefruit juice
1 1/4 cups powdered sugar

Pre-heat oven to 325˚

Coat a tube pan with cooking spray

In a medium bowl combine the flour, baking powder & 1/2 teaspoon salt

Stir to combine

i.e. keep your toddler busy

Cream butter, cream cheese & sugar

Add eggs, one at a time

Add oil, zest & vanilla

Mix to combine

Alternately add dd flour mixture and milk to batter, beginning and ending with flour

Spoon batter into pan and bake at 325˚

** The recipe says to bake for 70 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean – our cake was done after 55 minutes so keep an eye on it! **

Cool the cake in pan for 15 minutes

Turn out on a wire rack and cool completely

In a small saucepan bring 1/2 cup freshly squeezed grapefruit juice to a boil

Boil until reduced to 3 tablespoons (about 4 minutes)

Cool slightly (if you are in PA that may or may not involved placing outside for a mere 2 minutes!)

Stir in powdered sugar and 1/4 teaspoon salt

Wisk until smooth and drizzle over cake

(I had a 2 year old demanding “dessert now!” so I forgot to take a picture of the cake before we dug in!”

After all the excitement in making the cake and wanting it “now!” (his new thing) …

Ren wouldn’t even try the cake – I think he wanted loads of frosting and I failed to deliver!

(notice the boxes?  yet another symptom of my mother’s influence … spring cleaning in January!)

I, on the other hand, am up to 4 1/2 pieces … my husband knows me all too well!

Enjoy!


 

Leave a Reply

