GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

TJ’s Corn & Coconut Curry November 16, 2011

Filed under: "Fast Food",Recipes — gastromami @ 8:27 pm

I have a love/hate relationship with Trader Joe’s

I love:

that it is small

cheap goat cheese!

99 cent (yummy) pizza dough

convenience food for easy dinners

most items are reasonably priced

I hate:

that it is always super crowded

the plastic wrapped vegetables

that I have to tailor my grocery list to the fact that I am shopping at TJ’s

I have learned that my best bet is to do a google search for Trader Joe’s recipes so that I can take advantage of what the store has to offer.  This recipe I found on the Love Trader Joe’s blog.  It was super easy, super quick and yummy!

2 cups vegetable stock
3 cups broccoli or cauliflower, cut into florets
2 cups potato, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
3/4 package of Trader Joe’s Roasted Corn
2 cups of vegetable stock
1 cup light coconut milk
1 bottle Trader Joe’s Simmering Curry Sauce

1 1/2 cups shrimp, cleaned (optional)

In a large pot place the potatoes & broccoli, cover with 2 cups vegetable stock

Cook over medium-low heat until the potatoes start to soften

In a blender combine 2 cups stock, roasted corn, coconut milk & curry sauce

Add curry mixture to vegetables and bring to a boil

Reduce heat and simmer for 10-15 minutes, until vegetables are tender

Add shrimp and cook 5 minutes

Serve over rice

Ren approved!

 

Leave a Reply

