GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Baked Pasta with Summer Squash August 31, 2011

Filed under: "Fast Food",For Helpers! — gastromami @ 12:19 pm

20110830-044201.jpg

I’m pretty much in love with blogging from my phone – it may not look “pretty” but by the time the kids are sleeping, the dishes are washed, the toys are picked up, a load of laundry is shuffled, the camera is found, the cord is located, pictures are uploaded and I’m logged into WordPress, one of the kids is back up wanting to be nursed!

By blogging on my phone I can BLOG WHILE NURSING!! (yep, currently it’s Fiona)

So, as long as I know the recipe off the top of my head I’m ready to go!

I found a recipe for Summer Squash Baked Ziti in my most recent issue of Cooking Light and, since my mom sent us back to Philly with a harvest from their garden it seemed like a perfect dinner! My sister-in-law Stephanie was talking about Baked Ziti as being her “go-to meal” but to be honest, I’ve never even thought of making it myself. It was so incredibly easy, yummy & hearty – and healthy with the addition of fresh veggies, that variations will definitely be making it into my dinner rotation!!

Pre-heat oven to 350˚

Cook 4 oz of pasta (such as rotini, penne or ziti)

20110831-125712.jpg

Heat 2 tablespoons olive oil in a pan over medium-high heat

Add 3 cups summer squash (I used a combination of yellow squash & zucchini) and sauté for 5 minutes

20110831-084156.jpg

Add 2 cups of tomatoes (chopped or cherry) and 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped

Sauté 3 minutes

Season with dried oregano, salt & pepper, to taste

20110831-125939.jpg

In a separate bowl mix:
1/2 cup light ricotta cheese
1 eggs, lightly scrambled
Crushed red pepper, to taste
Salt & pepper, to taste

20110831-010156.jpg

In a large bowl mix:
Cooked pasta
Sautéed veggies
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella
1/2 cup fresh basil, chopped

20110831-010459.jpg

Mix and add in ricotta cheese mixture

20110831-010401.jpg

Transfer to an 8×8 baking dish and let your helper top with extra shredded mozzarella

Bake at 350 for 15 minutes until the pasta bubbles and cheese is browned

20110831-010629.jpg

Ren approved!!

 

Leave a Reply

