GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Nutty Maple Granola June 30, 2011

Filed under: 'Nack! (Snacks!),For Helpers! — gastromami @ 3:35 pm

As part of my “heal my brain” strategy, I am trying to incorporate as many good fats as I can into my diet.

This means that, although I usually balk at the high price of nuts, I had to have some almonds, walnuts and pistachios on hand at all times.

(Fine with Ren, he’s an almond-freak!)

While I am perfectly content to eat them by the handfuls, I couldn’t resist this recipe from Eco.Logical.Mom that popped up on my Facebook newsfeed.

It had 3 things going for it:

I had almost all the ingredients in my cupboard

It looked yummy

Ren could eat the “dough” and I didn’t have to worry about it

Preheat the oven to 300˚

Roughly chop:

1/2 cup unsalted almonds

1/2 cup unsalted walnuts

1/2 cup unsalted pecans

Put it a large bowl and add:

1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
1 cup quinoa flakes
1/2 cup flaxseed meal (or wheat germ)
1/2 cup agave nectar
1/2 cup maple syrup
4 oz apple sauce
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup raisins

MIX!!

Spread on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray

And bake at 300˚

until golden (about 45 minutes)

Ren approved

(yep – we wear snowman pj’s around here when it’s 90˚ out!)

 

3 Responses to “Nutty Maple Granola”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    Love it – what are quinoa flakes? Is it the same as regular quinoa?

  2. Alina Alfonso Says:

    This looks yummy! I’m going to have all the ingredients on hand so that when you come, I can make it with Renecito!

    Love you!


Leave a Reply

