GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Pistachio-Chai Muffins June 6, 2011

Filed under: 'Nack! (Snacks!),Breakfast — gastromami @ 11:49 am

I love muffins.

Usually I just make my favorite Dutchy Crust Muffins

but when Cooking Light had a section on Healthy Muffins I just had to try these Pistachio-Chai Muffins

I actually had read this article and though – my mom would love these.

In fact, my in-laws were here and my father-in-law, Reni senior, loves bread so I thought this would be a great time to make some muffins!

The only problem is that I wasn’t sure whether it would be too much chai to enjoy with my normal afternoon chai latte?

1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 chai blend tea bags, opened
1 cup low-fat buttermilk
1/4 cup butter, melted
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract, divided
1 large egg, lightly beaten
Cooking spray
1/3 cup shelled dry-roasted pistachios, chopped
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 tablespoon water

Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda & salt in a large bowl

Stir well with a whisk

Cut open 2 chai tea bags

Add tea to flour mixture and mix well

Combine buttermilk, butter, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1 lightly beaten egg

Stir well with a whisk

Make a well in the middle of the flour mixture and add the buttermilk mixture

Mix well

Divide batter evenly between 12 muffin liners, lightly coated with cooking spray

Top each muffin with pistachio nuts

Bake at 375˚ for 15 minutes, or until pick inserted in the center comes out clean

Remove from pan and cool on a wire rack for 15 minutes

(place a pan or liner under the rack to catch any extra glaze)

In a small bowl mix 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, powdered sugar & 1 tablespoon water

Stir until smooth

Drizzle the sugar glaze evenly over the muffins

Enjoy!!

Ren approved!

 

2 Responses to “Pistachio-Chai Muffins”

  1. Alina Alfonso Says:

    And believe me – not only Reni senior(abo), but aba Alina LOVED THESE MUFFINS! Gretchen is quite a cook and I take my hat off to her – with two small children, she still manages to make healthy, delicious meals and snacks.
    I strongly recommend you make these muffins – they are DELICIOUS!

  2. Yum, I love chai so much. What a great idea to pair it with pistachios and make muffins. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your muffins up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/06/sweets-for-saturday-21.html


Leave a Reply

