GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Kale Chips May 31, 2011

Filed under: 'Nack! (Snacks!) — gastromami @ 2:34 pm

Ren (and I) are loving us some kale chips

I had picked up some Brad’s Raw Chips:  Vampire Breath at Whole Foods a few months back but knew that, however yummy they might be, the $7 or $8 they charged (I can’t remember exactly) was hardly worth the meager serving that made our breath stink to high heaven for 3 days.

I bunch of organic kale runs about $1.99 and so I knew that I could make them just as easily, and cheaper, myself!

Remove the kale from its stem and tear into “chip-sized” pieces

In a large bowl toss one large bunch of torn kale with:

1 Tablespoon olive oil

a light sprinkle of salt

the zest of 1 large lemon

(I also love to add some freshly ground black pepper/garlic blend – can buy together in a mill)

Bake, on a baking sheet, for 30-40 minutes at 250˚ or until crispy

You can store in an air-tight container for a few weeks – if they last that long!

Ren approved!

 

Leave a Reply

