GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

He’s 2! May 27, 2011

Filed under: Dessert! — gastromami @ 8:02 pm

Hello there world.

Yes, I am alive

And, thankfully, so are the kids

Really, that’s all I can ask for these days

Having 2 is hard

For every sweet “bring tears to your eyes” show of affection between my beautiful children

There are 3 moments of utter chaos, crying and despair

But 3 weeks ago the ratio was 1:5 so things are on the upswing!

Just kidding, sorta.

I know I haven’t been posting much,

but the fact is,

I haven’t been cooking much!

However, my freezer is running low so I will be back at it soon!

But today my baby

my “best big brother ever!” (as he calls himself) baby

turned 2.

(tears)

I can’t even begin to explain to you how much he has changed my life

From the moment I knew he was here the path of my life took a complete 180˚

and that is a good thing!

And,

while I may be sad that my baby boy is growing up

this past year,

this passage between a baby of one

to a person of two

has probably been the most joyful year of my life

Never, ever ever in a million years could I have imagined just how amazing this year would be

To see him grow from, well, what Fiona is like

to the hilarious, rambunctious, sweet, strong-willed, spirited, and loving boy he is

means to me that I am at least doing something right

because this kid is down-right awesome!

How lucky this world is to have him in it!

How lucky I am to be able to call him my own!

Today, May 27th 2011,

I just want to wish him the happiest of birthdays

I love you kid

– Mama

We had our big party on Sunday with the Abuelos (more to come on that!)

but today we simply celebrated with some cupcakes and my favorite frosting!

Nana’s Maple Syrup Frosting

1/2 cup maple syrup

(PURE maple syrup – preferably New York State maple syrup!)

1 egg white

1/8 teaspoon salt

Beat egg white until stiff peaks form, adding salt at the end

Boil syrup until it forms a 2″ “hair”

Pour slowly into egg white while beating

Beat at high speed, constantly, until the frosting cools completely (it will thicken as it cools!)

Ren approved!

 

Leave a Reply

