GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Pasta with Bacon and Asparagus April 6, 2011

Filed under: "Fast Food" — gastromami @ 12:57 pm

 

Pasta Pasta Pasta

 

I know, I know, I know

 

It’s not ALL we eat

(but it’s A LOT of what we eat!)

 

 

I didn’t eat bacon until I was pregnant with Ren

Ok, well actually I started eating raw bacon when Reny first got into charcuterie

But the classic, “fry up on the stove” bacon made me want to throw up when I was a child

 

That said, I can’t even tell you how many BLTs I ate during my first pregnancy

(all that excess salt was probably the reason why I developed carpal tunnel!)

 

While my desire for bacon is not nearly as strong this 2nd time around,

it still lurks somewhere in my mind

crying out to be satisfied

 

I know, gross huh?

 

So, for a “twist” on my pasta and veggie dinner

 

 

Cook pasta (whole wheat) according to package directions, omitting salt

Drain and keep warm

 

 

In a large skillet, fry up some (4 pieces or whatever is left over from your BLTs!) bacon until crispy

Remove from pan and set aside

 

 

 

While the bacon is frying

dice 1/2 onion

cut 1 lb. asparagus into 1 1/2 inch pieces

shred leftover chicken from last night’s dinner

 

 

 

 

After removing the bacon,

Add the diced onion to the hot drippings and cook over medium heat until soft

 

 

 

 

Add asparagus and chicken,

Cook 2 minutes

 

 

 

Add about 1 1/2 cup stock

Bring to a boil

Reduce heat and simmer 5-7 minutes

Generously season with freshly ground black pepper

 

 

 

Add 4 giant handfuls (I know, accurate measurements today, huh?) spinach

 

 

The pasta

 

 

And 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

Mix well

 

 

 

Top with crumbled bacon and some more parmesan cheese

 

 

ENJOY!!

Comfort food at its finest!

 

 

Ren approved!

 

 

 


 

One Response to “Pasta with Bacon and Asparagus”

  1. Alina Alfonso Says:

    And not only did he approve – he seems to be TOTALLY into it! Love you both!


Leave a Reply

