GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

“Lara Bar” Truffles April 4, 2011

Filed under: 'Nack! (Snacks!),Dessert!,Entertaining,For Helpers!,Pregnancy — gastromami @ 4:09 pm

 

Thanks to my wonderful husband

I was able to sleep in this morning!

 

The blissful morning took a 180˚ turn, though,

when, after coming home from Smith Memorial Playground‘s Opening Day Celebration

my poor kid came upstairs in new clothes,

asked for “leche,”

curled up next to me

and promptly passed out.

 

With a fever of 103.5˚

 

Poor kid.

 

Besides a few ear infections

which are pretty much a given in the Dahlkemper family

this kid has never been sick like this.

 

After refusing food all day,

I finally got some ibuprofen in him to lower his fever for a bit

and we had to make a Whole Foods run for some chicken soup, bread and coconut water

in hopes of getting something in him!

 

I’ve actually been meaning to stop by WF for some labor food and drinks so,

as I was writing Luna/Lara Bars down on my list

I remembered a recipe that I saw for recreating Lara Bars.

A quick search turned up this post by The Nourishing Gourmet

so I added dates and coconut oil to my list (the rest we had in house!)

 

 

These decadent treats are a guilt-free way for me to give (both) of my kids a (pretty much) healthy snack!

(And Mama her chocolate fix!)

You can easily forgo the chocolate for little kids – which I might just whip up for Ren to ease my guilt a bit!

 

20 dates, pitted
1 cup of coconut flakes, fine
1/4 cup of coconut oil
Heaping 3/4 cup of walnuts, pecans, or nut of choice
2 ounces of unsweetened chocolate, finely chopped
1 teaspoon vanilla
A few dashes of unrefined salt

 

 

 

Pit your dates

 

 

 

In a food processor combing:

pitted dates

coconut

coconut oil

 

 

 

Process until finely ground

 

 

 

Toast nuts over medium heat, stirring constantly to prevent burning

Add to food processor and process until nuts are finely ground

 

 

 

Add chocolate to the warm pan you just used to toast the nuts and allow to slowly melt

(if you need extra heat, place over warm on the stove but do not let it burn!)

 

 

 

Add to food processor along with vanilla and salt

Process until smooth

 

 

 

Place mixture into bowl and refrigerate until firm enough to shape into balls

(about 30 minutes – 1 hour)

 

 

Roll into balls and refrigerate until hard

Will keep in a container in the fridge for a few weeks (if you can resist that long!)

 

 

Enjoy!

 


 

 

 

 

 

One Response to ““Lara Bar” Truffles”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    Never heard of Lara bars until your post yesterday, and then I saw them next to the Cliff Kid bars at Target last night. I might have to try them!


Leave a Reply

