GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Asian Chicken Salad March 28, 2011

Filed under: "Fast Food",Recipes — gastromami @ 3:11 pm

 

 

I have to preface this with saying that I’m not really a salad person

I’ll order a salad at a restaurant as an appetizer

but for a meal?

Not so much

 

But every once in a while,

like when I’m pregnant and only want fruit and vegetables

a salad sounds right up my alley

 

And sometimes,

there’s lettuce from my BLT craving and I need to use it up

 

We had roasted chicken left from the previous night’s dinner

some romaine lettuce

a can of water chestnuts

carrots

and celery

so I threw it together in a bowl

 

and on the stove mixed

1 cup coconut milk

3 tablespoons peanut butter

2 tablespoons soy sauce

a sprinkle of crushed red pepper

1 tablespoon brown sugar

some freshly squeezed lime juice

Bring to a boil

Reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes

Remove from heat

and let cool for a few minutes

 

Pour over salad mixture and mix

Top with some crushed peanuts and fresh squeezed lime juice

 

Enjoy!

 

Ren approved!

 

Ok …

On to another subject

 

There is rarely a time that my husband is outside without sunglasses on

He claims sensitive eyes

I don’t get it

But lately ….

 

My kids that loves getting his picture taken

can’t stand the flash

or the sun for that matter

So as I tried

to take pictures of “dessert”

(pineapple)

These were the best shots

I got

 

Looks like someone is going to need sunglasses this summer

But seriously … really!?

It’s all in their head!

(isn’t it?)



 

Leave a Reply

