GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Mushrooms with Orecchiette March 9, 2011

Filed under: "Fast Food",Pregnancy,Recipes — gastromami @ 8:35 am

 

 

I have been waiting and waiting for Ash Wednesday.

 

I know, not a “holiday” that is often anticipated

but, with a due date of April 25 (Easter is the 24th)

this Lent will also be the final countdown for #2.

 

And,

Much like my first pregnancy,

Meat and I just aren’t really getting along

Which fits perfectly within this Lenten season


So, when my aunt served this easy, easy pasta dish a few weeks ago,

and I remembered just how much Ren likes mushrooms

(unlike his Godfather)

I picked up some (I had forgotten how cheap mushrooms can be!) different varieties of ‘shrooms

at the grocery store, pulled some stock out of the freezer, a bag of peas and some of my favorite pasta!

Orecchiette means “tiny ear” and it is hearty and delicious!

(and perfect for little fingers or a little fork!)

Voila!

Dinner!

 

 

 

 

Boil pasta according to package directions

 

 

In a large skillet, heat 2 tablespoons olive oil over medium-high heat

Saute 1 small onion, diced &

3-4 cloves garlic, minced

 

 

Add sliced mushrooms

(any mixture!  I think I used shiitake and crimini here)

Saute over medium heat until soft and caramelized

 

 

Add 1-2 cups frozen peas

1-2 cups stock (whatever you have on hand!)

Bring to a soft boil, reduce heat and simmer until sauce begins to thicken

 

Season with salt and pepper

 

Enjoy!

 

Ren approved!  (LOVED!)

 

One Response to “Mushrooms with Orecchiette”

  1. Alina Alfonso Says:

    So – Ren is like his abuela – I LOVE MUSHROOMS – any place, any time, any kind! I will make this recipe! Thank you and beso-besos!


Leave a Reply

