GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

A Birthday Post: Papa’s Raspberry Pie February 6, 2011

Filed under: Dessert!,Recipes,Things that make me smile — gastromami @ 9:02 am

Today is my birthday


It was 6 years ago  today my birthday last fell on Superbowl Sunday

(I also didn’t watch it as my birthday gift to myself)

6 years ago today, just a week after moving to Memphis, I turned 21 and spent my first night (of many) on Beale St.


3 years ago I celebrated my birthday with a trip to Paris and Spain,

I had an incredible (actual) birthday night with my sister Tricia

and my dad (thanks Dad!  Best trip ever!)

 

 

1 year ago today my Papa died

As unplanned as Reny was, I know that everything happens for a reason

And his reason for being here was so that my Nana and Papa got to meet my son

My Nana passed away 4 weeks after Papa on March 6th

I guess after 63 years of marriage, they just couldn’t live without each other

 

 

And here it is, Birthday 2011

I’m pregnant (again)

However, as much as I LOVE birthdays

And, as much as I LOVE making a big deal on birthdays

(and having mine be made a big deal)

After the whirlwind of the past year

All I want to do is stay in with my family,

Have my husband cook for me

And eat some raspberry pie

 

 

Raspberry pie

We are more of a “birthday pie” kind of family rather than a “birthday cake” family

 

 

 

In fact,

we served both pie and cake (for tradition only) at our wedding

 

 

And raspberry pie,

Well it was Papa’s favorite

In fact,

at his funeral

a raspberry pie was brought up to the altar during the Offertory

And, when the Bishop (’cause that’s the kind of man he was – the Bishop celebrated his funeral)

came forward with incense at the end of Mass,

my grandmother, in spite of her grief,

whispered to my cousin to go save the raspberry pie so we could still eat it!

 

 

So, it is only appropriate that today,

On my birthday,

One year after losing one of the greatest men I will ever know,

We celebrate my life, his life, and our life,

With a raspberry pie

(and homemade crust – of course.  He wouldn’t have it any other way)

 

 

 

Nana’s Pie Pastry

 

2 cups sifted flour

3/4 teaspoon salt

2/3 cup shortening

4-6 tablespoons cold water

 

Sift dry ingredients, add shortening

 

Add 4 tablespoons water and mix with a fork or pastry tool

Add more water until mixture forms a ball

 

Divide into 2 parts,

wrap in plastic wrap

Chill for easier rolling

 

 

Raspberry Pie

 

20 oz (or more) frozen berries

2 tablespoons quick-cooking tapioca or 4 tablespoons corn starch

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 lemon, juiced

 

 

Mix ingredients and let stand 15 minutes before adding to pie shell

 

 

On a floured surface, roll out 1 ball of dough and gently place in pie pan

 

Fill with raspberry mix

 

Roll out 2nd ball of dough and place on top of raspberries

(or lattice)

 

Using a fork, crimp the edges and prick the top

 

Trim the edges and back at 450˚ for 10 minutes

Reduce heat to 350˚ and bake an additional 45 minutes or until golden brown:

 

 

Serve with vanilla ice cream and enjoy!!!

 

 

From my family to yours …

May you enjoy each and every year you have with your family;

may you find your soul mate and spend 63 marvelous years with them!

 

Ok, I’m off to eat some pie with mine:



 

 

 

One Response to “A Birthday Post: Papa’s Raspberry Pie”

  1. Alina Alfonso Says:

    Gretchen – have a wonderful birthday and God bless you always. This blog, of course, brought tear to my eyes! We love you.


Leave a Reply

