GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Dumpling Soup February 2, 2011

Filed under: "Fast Food",Recipes — gastromami @ 8:55 am

 

 

 

The other day we were in desperate need of food and, after an appointment at AAA, I found myself close to Trader Joe’s.

What TJ’s lacks in a meat counter and produce it greatly makes up for in the taste of its soymilk (my favorite!) and prepared food products.

Yes, yes, I know that I’m not a huge fan of just heating up stuff out of the freezer (not to mention the salt – especially as any extra water weight at this point is severely disheartening), used creatively, the pre-packaged foods can make, not break, a night.

 

 

Funnily enough, the one thing I have had no desire for this pregnancy is Asian food.

I always have the makings for curry in the house – but haven’t made any in months.

We are in walking distance to Chinatown – but haven’t had any dim sum for lunch.

However, on this cold and blustery day, the pork dumplings and egg rolls were calling my name.

I had chicken stock, ginger, garlic and carrots on hand so I picked up some green onions along with the dumplings and voila!  Dinner.

 

 

 

Prep:

Thinly slice 2 large carrots

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 small onion, diced

Ginger, peeled and minced (about 2 tablespoons)

Thinly slice 1/2 bunch (about 6 stalks) green onion

 

 

Heat about 1 tablespoon vegetable oil over med-high heat

Add onion and garlic, cook until fragrant (about 2 minutes)

 

 

Add ginger, cook 1 minutes

 

 

Add carrots and green onion, cook 2-3 minutes

 

 

Add 3 cups chicken stock

Bring to a boil

Reduce heat and simmer 20 minutes

 

(While soup is simmering, bake frozen egg rolls if you are so inclined!)

 

 

Add dumplings (3 per serving) and cook until they float to the surface (8-10 minutes)

 

Season to taste with chili-garlic sauce (sambal)

(I only put in about 1 tablespoon and it was plenty spicy – I would omit for heat-sensitive kids)

 

 

To round out our meal I included my egg roll-craving and some edamame (Ren’s favorite!)

 

 

Ren approved!

 

 

** I’m cutting this week short and heading to DC for an early-birthday celebration with Tia Tricia and the DC Dahlkemper clan!  I do, however, have my numero uno dessert waiting in the wings for Sunday – in honor of my Papa on my birthday … Steenberges, I bet you can guess what it is!

 

One Response to “Dumpling Soup”

  1. Aunt Jeannie Says:

    My guess…RASPBERRY PIE! The dumpling soup looks yummy, we are huge fans of soup and of dumplings, so this is a match made in heaven…have fun with the DC crew!


Leave a Reply

