GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Nana Helen’s ‘Nana Bread January 28, 2011

Filed under: 'Nack! (Snacks!),For Helpers!,Recipes,Things that make me smile — gastromami @ 7:48 am

 

Nana Helen was my Nana’s mom,

my mom’s “Gram” but we called her Nana Helen.

She lived with my grandparents for years and, although she passed away when I was about 5, I remember her fondly.

Her spirit has always been a part of our lives due to this banana bread.

My mom made it, well, all the time it seems.

Maybe because none of us will eat a banana with even one brown spot?

What can I say, we like them slightly green.

 

 

Anyway, it was one of those weeks that I was just looking for a little motivation.

Due to circumstances

 


** break **

(Ren just threw an entire bowl of cereal with blueberries all over the place – awesome)

 

Anyway, due to circumstances out of our control (Reny working looooong hours, snow, canceled swim lessons, uncleared sidewalks, nasty colds) this week found us home more often than not.  Those kind of “sweatpants and slippers” weeks tend to leave me feeling a little sedentary and ….

… so, needless to say, when it gets to this point, there is only one thing to do:

 

Pull out the mixer, some flour, sugar and butter and bake!

 

I happened to have a ton! of bananas on hand since I picked some up at the grocery store on Monday and then, when finding myself going back through the produce department on Wednesday, a certain little fruit-lover about threw a fit when I didn’t get another bunch of ‘nanas!!!!

 

I waited until Ren woke up from his nap, because baking together is something both of us look forward to.

This recipe is simple and easy, and, the best part about baking it with a toddler is that there are no eggs so I don’t feel guilty about letting him lick the batter to his little hearts content!

 

 

2/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup butter, softened

1 3/4 cup flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon salt

3 ripe bananas, mashed

 

 

 

Pre-heat oven to 350˚

 

 

 

 

Mash the bananas until they look like this:

Set aside

 

 

Sift dry ingredients

Stir to combine, set aside

 

 

Grease and flour a bread pan, set aside

 

 

Cream butter and sugar

Add 1/2 of the dry ingredients, stirring until just blended

Add 1/2 of the bananas, stir to combine

Repeat with remaining dry ingredients and then bananas.

Pour into prepared pan

Bake at 350˚ for 45-60 minutes, until a knife inserted comes out clean

 

 

Our favorite way to enjoy the bread is warm out of the oven, smothered in peanut butter!

Enjoy!

 

 

Ren’s favorite way to eat the ‘nana bread?

Right off the beater!

 

 

 

We are headed to Connecticut tomorrow for The Sun Winefest

so we will see y’all next week!

(we might, finally!, be linked into the Eastern seaboard’s food scene but I’m having trouble letting go of the y’all … )

 

Leave a Reply

