GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Peanut Butter Hummus January 20, 2011

Filed under: 'Nack! (Snacks!),For Helpers! — gastromami @ 12:57 pm

 

 

Some might say,

“Peanut butter hummus?  Gross!”

However, I think,

“What would make (pretty much anything) better?”

“PEANUT BUTTER!”

That trait comes straight from my father who is famous for his “tummy-curing” peanut butter frosting, among other nutty favorites.  I distinctly remember swirling peanut butter into brownie batter one night – something I have since always done.

That is why I was not surprised when he called me one day about a recipe he had just heard on NPR for “Peanut Butter Hummus.”

“That sounds right up GastroMami’s alley,” he said.

And boy, he was right.

Basically the peanut butter replaces the tahini in hummus — however, Reny doesn’t like tahini so I make our hummus base without it anyway.

This version ranks right up there with my favorite “roasted red pepper hummus,” so I can see it working its way into the rotation.

 

 

Why do I make my own hummus?

It’s really quite simple:

Have you ever compared the price of a can of chick peas to a small container of hummus!?!?

It’s ridiculous actually.

Roasted red pepper (yup, easy to make at home)

Roasted garlic (ummm yep, I can do that)

Mediterranean style, Greek olive, Peanut butter – give me a kind of hummus and I can make it for 1/4 of the price.

 

 

 

We have been eating the peanut butter hummus with all of our favorite dippers:

crackers, carrots, celery, pretzels, spread on toast … anyway you want!

 

 

2  15-ounce cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed (reserve the liquid)

2 garlic cloves, peeled

4 tablespoons regular olive oil

1/3 cup creamy peanut butter

the juice of 2 lemons

kosher salt, to taste

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1/2 – 3/4 cup Greek yogurt

crushed or chopped peanuts, to serve

 

 

 

 

Put the chickpeas in food processor (or blender)

 

 

Add the rest of the ingredients and blend

 

 

(lick the peanut butter off the spoon)

 

Gradually add liquid reserved from the chickpeas until desired consistency is reached.

 

 

Enjoy!

 

 

Ren approved!

 

One Response to “Peanut Butter Hummus”

  1. heather ries Says:

    Gonna have to try this , sounds great


Leave a Reply

