GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Broccoli Bites January 17, 2011

Filed under: 'Nack! (Snacks!) — gastromami @ 3:42 pm

Yay for Broccoli Bites!!

 

 

This easy to whip up snack is one of Ren’s, and my, favorites!

It’s healthy and makes a large enough amount that I throw them in the freezer to pull out and pop in the toaster oven for, as Ren likes to call it:

‘Nack!

I just went through my email “archives” (since I don’t delete anything but real ‘junk’) and saw that I got this recipe from one of my favorite-in-the-whole-world mommy friends, Greta, on January 29, 2010!

I actually can’t believe I was making these for Ren a year ago, when he was just 8 months old, but I do remember cutting the nuggets into quarters so that he could just gum the tiny pieces.

I like to make up a batch during nap (I don’t recommend much “help” with these – my son loves to eat anything out of a mixing bowl and the raw egg just creeps me out!) so that they are warm out of the oven for an “after-nap ‘nack!”

 

 

 

 

 

Combine:


1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese, grated

1 head broccoli (or 16 oz. frozen package) broccoli

Steamed, drained, and chopped

1 1/2 cups seasoned bread crumbs

 

 

 

*****

 

 

 

I usually make some homemade breadcrumbs – they are easy!

Toast 3-4 pieces of whole wheat bread, let cool and:

Grind up in a mini-prep

For “seasoned” breadcrumbs I add 1 1/2 tablespoons Italian seasoning

 

 

 

*****

 

 

 

Sprinkle some parmesan cheese (about 1/4-1/2 cup)

Season with salt and pepper to taste

Add 3 large eggs (for kids 1+)

or

5 egg yolks (for kids younger than 1!)

Combine ingredients by hand until well mixed

Shape into nuggets and place on a pan coated with cooking spray

(Lightly spray the top of the nuggets also)

Bake at 375˚ F for 25-30 minutes, flipping after 15 minutes

 

 

 

Ren approved!

(Mom too – I love these things!)

 

2 Responses to “Broccoli Bites”

  1. Shanna Says:

    SHANNA APPROVED 🙂

  2. Stephanie Says:

    Love these! I used to make them a lot, after you gave me the recipe last year, but I sort of forgot about them. Thanks for the reminder! Always trying to keep it fresh around here. Wonder if it would turn out okay with spinach substituted for broccoli?


Leave a Reply

