GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Spinach Manicotti January 12, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — gastromami @ 11:35 am

 

 

 

I love Italian food

And, I think, so does everyone else

There’s nothing like a warm, ooey-gooey, cheesy, saucy meal to make you happy

I really wanted to make stuffed shells, but alas, the grocery store had no “large shells”

So manicotti it was!

 

 

 

This dish is so quick and easy, especially if I am using sauce that is either

A.  Leftover from an earlier dinner

B.  Pulled out of the freezer from one of my “stock the freezer” frenzies

C.  Jarred – sometimes I just love to use “different flavors” of  sauce in place of my own homemade recipe!

 

 

 

 

My basic stuffed shell, or manicotti, recipe is from my mom

and I add spinach (from the freezer!) for extra nutrients and iron

 

 

 

1 (8 oz) container low-fat ricotta cheese

8 oz grated mozzarella cheese

4 oz. grated cheddar cheese

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

10 oz bag frozen spinach, defrosted

one egg

1 box manicotti shells

pasta sauce

 

 

 

 

Boil the pasta according to package directions

 

Combine cheeses, spinach and egg

 

Cover the bottom of a baking dish with a small amount of sauce

 

Spoon the spinach/cheese mixture into a quart or gallon Ziploc bag

Snip the corner of the bag for a makeshift “pastry (pasta!) bag”

“Pipe” the cheese mixture into the pasta

 

 

 

Place stuffed pasta on the bottom layer of sauce

 

Top with sauce

 

 

Bake at 350˚ for 20-30 minutes

 

 

 

 

** This is a perfect “drop-off” for a new baby meal!

 

I have no picture of Ren eating this meal (sometimes dinner can become an all out war zone!)

So here’s one of my “little helper!”

 

 

 

One Response to “Spinach Manicotti”

  1. Alina Alfonso Says:

    This sounds so good! I’m going to try it! Thanks! And a big beso-beso to your “little helper”. Abuela.


Leave a Reply

