GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

A little Asian flavor January 6, 2011

Filed under: "Fast Food" — gastromami @ 3:21 pm

 

My dinner-saving-grace at least once a week involves pulling some frozen shrimp out of the freezer, boiling some noodles, and using up any “need to eat tonight” veggies.

I tend to turn to the old stand-by seasonings of white wine, lemon juice and parsley, and, while a fine meal, was frankly sick of it the other night.  At the same, time, nothing else was on my radar for that night’s supper – the time of which was quickly approaching!  I grabbed one of my old Cooking Light magazines and stumbled across a recipe for “Noodles with Roast Pork and Almond Sauce.”  One thing that this whole learning-to-cook year has taught me is that I don’t need to follow a recipe but just use it as a guide.

 

So, I threw my vegetable spiral pasta in a pot of boiling water (omitting any salt as I would be using soy sauce and almond butter in the sauce).

Defrosted and peeled the shrimp and sprinkled them with the juice of one lemon.

I sautéed those babies up with some olive oil and threw in some frozen peas.

While the shrimp were cooking I made a version of the sauce from the Cooking Light recipe:

1/4 cup almond butter

2 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce

2 tablespoons rice vinegar

1 tablespoon minced peeled fresh ginger

(I did not have any fresh ginger so I sprinkled about 1 teaspoon of dried ginger)

1/2 teaspoons chili garlic sauce

 

 

Place some hot pasta in a bowl (or on a plate), top with the shrimp and peas and drizzle with the sauce!

I was generous on the sauce with my own portion but went light on Ren’s due to the heat of the sambal (chili garlic) sauce.  He loved it but go sparingly, or skip all together, for heat-sensitive little ones!

 

Ren approved!

 

 

One Response to “A little Asian flavor”

  1. Alina Alfonso Says:

    I AM SO GLAD THAT HE IS NOT ALLERGIC TO SHRIMP LIKE HIS GRANDMOTHER!


Leave a Reply

