GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Dutchy Crust Oatmeal-Fruit Muffins December 1, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,For Helpers!,Recipes — gastromami @ 9:12 am

I’m making my way through family recipes.

I don’t know if it is the onset of fall and the desire that comes with that change in season to hunker down with my family;  to sit in a warm house, filled with wonderful smells of baking and roasting.

It could be that I’m missing my family as another child is growing away from his/her relatives.

Or, I could just be hungry!

No matter the reason, these muffins were a staple in my house growing up and we make them all year around here!  I love love love cranberries and get so frustrated when I can’t but them come Spring and Summer.  So last year I got smart and stocked my freezer.  These can be made with blueberries or cranberries but I definitely prefer the latter.

 

 

 

 

For the muffins:

3/4 cup AP flour

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup fresh or partially thawed frozen cranberries or blueberries

2 eggs

1/2 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup butter, melted

 

For the “Dutchy Crust”

1/4 cup butter, softened

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup AP flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

 

 

 

 

 

Pre-heat oven to 400˚

 

 

 

 

In a large bowl, mix flours, oats, sugar, baking powder and soda

 

Stir

 

Add fruit and stir to coat

 

In a small bowl beat eggs with a fork

 

Beat in buttermilk and butter

 

Add to the flour mixture and stir until blended

Fill lined muffin tins 2/3 full

 

Prepare Dutchy crust by combining all ingredients

 

Until crumbly

 

Top muffins with Dutchy crust.

Bake at 400˚ until pick inserted in center comes out clean (15-25 minutes for muffins)

Can be baked in a greased, 9″ square pan for 30-25 minutes.

From my family to yours, Enjoy!

 

One Response to “Dutchy Crust Oatmeal-Fruit Muffins”

  1. […] Usually I just make my favorite Dutchy Crust Muffins […]


Leave a Reply

