GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Turkey and Sweet Potato Chili September 30, 2010

Filed under: "Fast Food" — gastromami @ 12:31 pm

(Yep!  That’s a dollop of sour cream (lite)!  I LOVE sour cream!)

This recipe comes from my Aunt Colleen Zematis as part of the Steenberge Cookbook.

I was flipping through the pages looking for something yummy and fall-y, and this looked perfect!

I love sweet potatoes, I think mostly because they were such a treat growing up.  My mom, and my dad, don’t really care for sweet potatoes so I used to love going to my Nana’s where she would load them up with butter and sprinkle with a little bit of brown sugar!  Yum!

This recipe calls for 1 can of sweet potatoes but I had fresh lying around so I just peeled 2, cut into cubes, and par-boiled for 15 minutes.  Even with the “extra” work of using fresh potatoes, this recipe still took less than 30 minutes!

I love a less-than-30-minute dinner that is as good as this recipe!  It was so yummy with a little bit of spiciness, a little bit of sweetness from the mango and the heartiness of beans and ground turkey!  Also – this is healthy and full of  the good stuff my, and your, body needs!

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

1-1.5 lbs. ground turkey breast

1 teaspoon minced garlic

2 (15 oz) cans black beans, rinsed and drained

1 (15 oz) can sweet potatoes (or 2 fresh, peeled, cubed, and par-boiled)

1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes with green pepper and onion

1 (14.5 oz) can reduced sodium chicken broth

1 cup mango nectar

1 packet (1.25 oz) chili seasoning mix (I used spicy but would suggest mild for most kids!)

1/2 teaspoon allspice

Peel 2 small sweet potatoes and cube.  Boil for 15 minutes, drain and set aside

In a large skillet, heat olive oil over med-high heat.  Ad ground turkey and garlic to the hot oil;  cook and stir about 5 minutes or until turkey is cooked through.

Add 1 packet chili seasoning mix and 1/2 teaspoon allspice

2 cans black beans

Cooked sweet potatoes

1 can diced tomatoes

1 cup mango juice

1 can chicken broth

Stir to combine.

Bring mixture to a boil;  reduce heat.

Simmer for 10 minutes or until liquid thickens.

Garnish with a dollop of sour cream and/or cilantro (not pictured)

For Ren, I stirred in 2 tablespoons of whole-milk yogurt.

Ren approved!

I know, I know, he looks pretty pissed in this picture.  And he is.  I wouldn’t let him have my phone while he ate.  After 2 trips to the Apple store in the last few months, who can blame me?  Me, he wasn’t so happy with.  Dinner, however, was a hit!

QUESTION!

What is YOUR favorite chili recipe???




 

3 Responses to “Turkey and Sweet Potato Chili”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I have made this recipe several times and always receive good feedback! I made it for a chili cook-off at school once and the teachers all loved it! One variation is that I sometimes make it with Rotel instead of canned tomatoes – the spice from the chiles and the sweetness of the mango nectar are really good!

  2. Gregory(Moby) Says:

    I am making your chili right now…can’t wait!!


Leave a Reply

