GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Easy, Fast, Crustless Quiche September 22, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast — gastromami @ 3:07 pm

This is the easiest quiche recipe e.v.e.r.

My dad made this quiche all the time.  It does take longer to cook, than say, pancakes but it was always a good Sunday when we woke up and these were cooking in the oven.  The base of the quiche is three simple steps, with ingredients I always have in the house (eggs, milk, bisquick).  The key is just using whatever is laying around to always make it new and interesting.

Since iron-rich food is on my meal plan for the next 7 months, I used TONS of spinach in mine, cheese and tomatoes!

Pre-heat the oven to 375˚

Spray a pie pan with cooking spray and add your ingredients:

(i.e. cheese, tomatoes (here), ham, mushrooms, zucchini, you get the idea….)

I used a combination of gruyere and cheddar

one large tomato, chopped

In a blender add:

1 cup Heart-Healthy Bisquick

4 eggs

2 cups milk

That’s the base!  1 cup Bisquick, 4 eggs, 2 cups milk!  So easy!

I like to add my seasonings into the blender also;  be generous!

Today I used oregano, sage, salt and pepper

If I am including spinach in my quiche I like to also throw that in the blender.  Why, you ask?  Because I can get A TON of it in there if blended and, if blended up with all the yummy stuff, little fingers can’t pick it out!

See, a LOT of spinach!  I used almost an entire bag of spinach for one quiche!  Yum!

Pour the egg and milk mixture over your ingredients in the pie pan

and bake at 375˚ for about an hour

until golden brown and firm in the middle!

Let sit for 10-15 minutes before serving!

Ren approved!

 

Leave a Reply

