GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Quick! Linguine with Clams September 17, 2010

Filed under: "Fast Food" — gastromami @ 12:55 pm

Iron

iron

IRON!

My body needs iron!

This happened last time I was pregnant.  I’m exhausted, cranky (well, more so than normal) and I know that my body needs more iron.  As much as I love to take pills that feel like, well, a giant block of iron in my stomach, I would much rather get my nutrients the old-fashioned way, in food!  So today I was reading about some good sources of iron as I am tired of spinach-broccoli-spinach-broccoli-spinach-broccoli cycle, and I saw that clams are a good source of iron!  Yay!  I can do clams.  And so I did, canned that is, because, like I said, I am exhausted and cranky.

Add linguine to boiling, salted water.  Cook 10-12 minutes until tender.

5 minutes before the pasta is done, heat 2 tablespoons olive oil over medium-high heat.  Add 2-3 cloves garlic, minced and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.

Add 1 large tomato, diced.  Saute 1 minute.

Add clams, saute 1 minute.

Season with some freshly ground black pepper and a dash of crushed red pepper  (omit if cooking for kids or family who are heat-sensitive).  Add 1/4 cup dry white wine.  Cook 2-3 minutes until some of the liquid evaporates.

Drain pasta and return to pan.  Add clam sauce.

Finish off with some minced parsley and freshly grated parmesan cheese.

Mix!

Top off with a little more freshly grated cheese and enjoy!

Ren approved!


 

Leave a Reply

