GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Baked Shrimp with Feta August 31, 2010

Filed under: "Fast Food" — gastromami @ 3:22 pm

Oh … my …. goodness!

This. Is. Fantastic!

One more time — you MUST make this dish!

Today was a little trying.  It started out great as Reny and I headed out to Collierville for our Friday run with friends, ending in some much-needed, energy-blowing, sprinkler park playing!  Unfortunately the sprinkler park has new Fall hours and was not open!  No biggie, we just headed over to the great playground!!

On the way home, I called Reny and after about 2 minutes he started in with “Hello?  Can you hear me?”  To which I responded:  “I can hear you, why can’t you hear me?  Hello?  Hell-ooooo?  HELLO???”

Arghhh, this happened the night before on the phone with my grandparents and there was no way I was going to let my ‘less than a month old’ new iPhone 4 act up all weekend!  And don’t even mention the possibility of me heading there during the weekend!  Ughhh I cringe thinking about the crowds ….

We had been on our way to the Winchester Farmer’s Market to get all the makings for fish tacos so thankfully I had packed a lunch for Reny.  I pulled a quick u-turn on Kirby and headed up to the Apple store, praying that we could get in and out before naptime (it was now 11:45).  Before getting Ren out of the car I gave him a thorough wipe-down to clean up any remnants of peanut butter and blueberries and we headed in.  We killed the 10 minutes of waiting playing on the kid’s computers (or just playing the ABC song over and over and over again!)  It may have been the repeats of kids songs, or my wonderful post-run stench but we got seen relatively fast.  And here is where the trouble began …. the tech was great but could not “reproduce” my issue.  Yes, I know, it doesn’t happen all the time and it only happens after a few minutes of talking.  Soooo, calling your buddy and saying “Hi, can you hear me?  Great.” won’t “reproduce” the problem.  So he sends me a and my rapidly failing son on our way.  On my way out I made an appointment for Monday because I knew that I would be back!  I walked out of the store, called Reny, walked about 10 feet and “Hello?  Are you there?”

So I grabbed my sweaty, poor MamaIreallyneedanap kid and head back in – to the lunch crowd.  Shnikes!

After some 20 minutes of screaming, crying and desperately signing for “leche” while simultaneously trying to pull up my shirt and nurse, the tech came over, grabbed my phone and gave me a new one.  Thank you ‘kind’ sir.

Anyway, my day was significantly improved by this wonderfully scrumptious dinner!

Baked Shrimp with Feta*

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

1 pound large shrimp, peeled and deveined

cooking spray

1 teaspoon olive oil

1/2 cup diced onion

2 garlic cloves, minced

2 tablespoons bottled clam juice

1 tablespoon white wine

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes, drained

1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese

2 tablespoons chopped fresh Italian parsley

  1. Preheat oven to 450˚
  2. Combine lemon juice and shrimp in a bowl;  toss well
  3. Heat a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat.  Coat pan with cooking spray.  Add oil to pan, swirling to coat.  Add onion to pan;  saute 1 minute.  Add garlic;  saute 1 minute.  Add clam juice, wine, oregano, pepper, and tomatoes;  bring to a boil.  Reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes.
  4. Stir in shrimp mixture.  Place in an 8 x 8-inch baking pan coated with cooking spray.  Sprinkle cheese evenly over mixture.
  5. Bake at 450˚ for 12 minutes or until shrimp are done and cheese melts.
  6. Sprinkle with parsley; serve immediately

While the shrimp is baking cook 1 cup orzo pasta according to package directions.  Drain and toss with 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil, 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley, 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper.

Serve with steamed broccoli

Ren (definitely!) approved!

*Adapted from Cooking Light

 

Leave a Reply

