GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Tortilla Espanola (Spanish Omelet) August 24, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — gastromami @ 12:49 pm

I love a Spanish Omelet.

It is the best hangover cure, E.V.E.R.

How do I know?  Let me take you to Madrid, February of 2008 …..

Our very sophisticated art tour quickly spiraled downward into a classic Spanish, vino-filled, tapas tour courtesy of my hermana, Tricia.

Our very fun (and slightly wild) first night in Spain turned into ….

… the most painful day of my life!

My dad and sister dragged my hung-over butt out of bed and downstairs to a small cafe.  Nothing, absolutely nothing, sounded good to me and so Tricia ordered me a Tortilla Espanola.

Eggs, Onions, Oil, and Potatoes??

I felt remarkably better after putting that combination in my tummy!

You know, the Spanish really know how to live, and survive, their wild and fun lives!

Anyway, I don’t only eat a Tortilla Espanola for a hangover cure anymore, and my son has fallen in love with the perfect combination himself.

1/4 cup olive oil

3-4 potatoes, thinly sliced

1 white onion, chopped

4 eggs, scrambled in a bowl

1/4 teaspoon salt

  1. Heat a 10-inch, non-stick skillet over medium-high heat, add the olive oil. Once the oil is hot, add the potato slices and onion and cook for 20 minutes until the potatoes and onions are soft.
  2. Remove the potatoes and onions from the pan and add to the scrambled eggs.  Add salt.
  3. Pour the entire mixture into the skillet
  4. Lower the heat to medium-low and cook for 4 to 5 minutes, until the bottom of the omelet is very light brown.
  5. Using a flat ceramic plate, cover the frying pan and flip the omelet over onto the plate. Immediately slip the uncooked side back into the pan.
  6. Cook for another 4 to 5 minutes, until the other side is a very light brown.
  7. Remove the omelet from the pan to a plate and cut into 4 wedges.

Ren Approved

 

Leave a Reply

