GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Suprise visit, late nap, caught in a downpour = “fast food!” July 29, 2010

Filed under: "Fast Food" — gastromami @ 8:35 pm

I got a call yesterday from my old roommate Lynn Drury.  As Katrina moved into New Orleans, Lynn headed up to Memphis and ended up staying for a little over a year, getting back on her feet.  She headed back home to New Orleans but floats through town once in a while while out on the road.  She was heading up to some gigs in southern Illinois and needed a bed;  I needed some time with my friend!  This was the first time she had met Reny and he was smitten from the first moment he saw her!  Look at his face as she gave him his own little private concert!

Having our guest was a blast but we got a late nap and still needed to head out for a few errands!  We were in the store and I heard it:  rain pouring down on the top of the big box store!  It was coming down in sheets!  We browsed for a bit, but we all know that browsing leads to spending so I needed to get out of there!  So Ren and I made a mad dash for the car, getting completely and totally soaked on the way!  (Ren was laughing his head off and this fun “game!”)

So needless to say, tonight was just one of those nights that cooking was just not going to get done!  I don’t “do” fast-food, so I just had to make do with what I had:

Salmon Burgers

These are from Whole Foods.  I pick one or two up when I make a stop there.  Yes, I can make these, but buying them pre-made is actually more cost-effective (>$5/burger) and tasty!

Green Beans

Organic, out of the bag in the freezer

Fruity Couscous

3/4 cup carrot juice

3/4 cup water

1/2 cups couscous

* bring juice and water to a boil;  add couscous, cover, remove from heat, and let stand 5 minutes

Add:

1 can garbanzo beans

1 can mandarin oranges (or orange segments)

1 cup craisins

1/2 cup chopped cilantro

This entire meal took me less than 10 minutes to throw together and cost less than $5/person (we shared a burger, they are huge!)

Ren approved


 

Leave a Reply

