GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Strawberry Bread June 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — gastromami @ 3:46 pm

As soon as I read this recipe I immediately thought “Oh Nana would love this!  I should call her!”

It was one of those moments (and I have had a lot of them since March 6th) that hit me like a freight train – kinda like the card showing up for Reny last week from “Nana and Papa”

So I just went into the kitchen and made it, sorta like my own little prayer to her

And … since I can’t share this with my beautiful Nana,  I’ll share it with y’all …

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 cups strawberries, mashed (the recipe calls for fresh but I can think of a lot of things to do with fresh strawberries – strawberry shortcake, as a topping for Sunday morning waffles, etc. – rather than cooking them in bread …. so I used frozen)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp.  salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda

Mix together dry ingredients

Add wet

(oil, eggs, strawberries)

Pour into a greased and floured loaf pan and

Bake at 350˚ for about an hour, until knife inserted comes out clean!

Yum!  Yum!



 

3 Responses to “Strawberry Bread”

  1. Aunt Jeannie Says:

    Hey Gretchen,
    This looks so yummy! Nana would love it!
    Mary Catherine actually has a strawberry bread recipe from Nana that she mailed to us for MC’s 3rd grade project…I know you won’t be surprised to learn it was not as healthy as your version!

  2. Aunt Jeannie Says:

    Oh yeah, Nana used frozen strawberries, too!


Leave a Reply

