GastroMami

Learning to cook … one kid at a time

Pastelitos de Guayaba y Queso January 7, 2011

Filed under: Breakfast,Dessert!,For Helpers! — gastromami @ 10:55 am

Or Alternatively Titled:

RENY’S BIRTHDAY:  PART 1

 

 

My husband does not eat breakfast.

He eats eggs, sautéed in rice … but at midnight.

He eats bacon (boy does he eat bacon!) …  but for an appetizer.

He eats cereal, out of a large Swanky’s cup … for a snack.

But, honestly, I never see the man eat before noon.

 

However, I love breakfast and so, for his birthday, I made Reny the one food he would eat that early:

Pastelitos de Guayaba y Queso

or (for those of us who speak English)

Cuban Guava and Cheese pastries

 

 

 

I have to say, Cuban pastries have become my numero uno food while we are in Miami – the last time we flew down to see family, we flew Delta and boy, what a mistake!  Unlike the American Airlines area, there is no Cuban coffee shop to get some pastelitos and cafe cubano!!  Let me tell you, my heart was broken as we had to endure the wait for our luggage and ride without my Miami favorites, and, I must thank my sister-in-law Caro for stopping in Homestead so I could fulfill my craving before we headed to the Keys!

 

 

 

Anyway, Ren woke up at the crack of dawn (how did he know it was the only day of the year when I have “morning duty!?)

So I made myself some cafe con leche and we began working on breakfast for Dada.

 

 

To start:

Cut up guava paste and cream cheese into 1/2 inch pieces

Beat one egg in a bowl, set aside

Make a simple syrup:

Add equal parts sugar and water in a small saucepan on the stove.

Heat over med-high heat until the sugar is completely dissolved and the liquid is clear.

Set aside.

(The night before I had pulled the frozen puff pastry out of the freezer and defrosted in the fridge.)

Lightly roll out one sheet of pastry – this prevents the pastry from being “too puffy.”

Using a pizza cutter, cute the pastry sheet into 4 equal squares.

Place, in the center, a slice of cream cheese and top with guava paste.

 

Guava paste!?  What’s that?  And where do I find it!?

Actually, you can find guava paste pretty much anywhere now!  (even in Erie, PA!)

We tend to buy it at local Asian/Latin markets but you can find the Goya brand in the Latin section of most groceries.

 

Brush all four edges of each pastry square with beaten egg.

 

Fold the pastry over top of the guava and cheese, forming a triangle.

(In Cuban bakeries, you can tell the type of pastry by it’s shape – guayaba y queso pastries are always triangles)

“Crimp” the edges with a fork and poke once in the top for a vent.

Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

Brush the top with beaten egg and (this is important!) place the tray in the freezer for about 10 minutes before baking!!

Bake at 400˚ for 8-10 minutes until the pastries look like this:

Brush with simple syrup and continue baking for an additional 5-8 minutes until golden brown.

This step is the most important (and hardest for me!):

LET THE PASTRIES COOL!!!

The guava gets extremely hot and you will burn your mouth if you eat them too early!  (Trust me – I know!)

 

Enjoy!


 

 

 

5 Responses to “Pastelitos de Guayaba y Queso”

  1. Alina Alfonso Says:

    Gretchen – you are amazing! Maybe it’s because I have never needed to, but I HAVE NEVER, EVER, made pastelitos. The closest I’ve come is while living in Costa Rica, Reni senior would come to Miami and go to the boys’ favorite bakery (Chantilly on 8th street) and they would sell him frozen, not-baked pastelitos. When he got to C.Rica, we would brush them with the glaze and put them in the oven – you should have seen your husband eating them!
    And you are right – Reny has NEVER, EVER wanted breakfast, ever since he was around 3 years old. You can’t imagine the morning I had with him, trying to get him to eat something… and then if I made him, he would throw up!
    By the way- does our little boy like pastelitos as much as his dad?

  2. Dear Gretchen, congratulations and thank you for your recipe. I just published it on Camagüeyanos por el Mundo forum: http://s1.zetaboards.com/camagueyanos/topic/4053112/1/?x=0#post252511.

    Un abrazo to you all.

    Luisi
    (Alina’s favorite cousin)

  3. [...] started out the day with my little helper making Pastelitos Guayaba y Queso, we hit up a local pizzeria for lunch (funnily enough, the night before I had jokingly told my dad [...]

  4. [...] little Cuban eating pastelitos on the [...]

  5. [...] For breakfast today we fed him 2 croquettes & 1 1/2 pastelitos de guayaba y queso [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers